Roll of Honour - 2017/8

The Ambleside Chrismas Lights event, which so many enjoy and which now brings large numbers of visitors to the town, could not happen without sponsorship.
 
We would like to thank for its generous grant:
  • Lakes Parish Council

We are indebted to Windermere Lake Cruises for sponsoring our Father Christmas cruise and the lights at Waterhead and to F.W.Tyson for selling the tickets.

We are grateful to Windermere and Ambleside Lions Club for organizing the fireworks display and to The Regent Hotel and The White Lion Hotel for space to store our lights.

It is with pleasure that we acknowledge the help of The Rotary Club of Ambleside with the stewarding of the lantern procession and for providing the Christmas trees in Market Place.

A valuable contribution is made by the Ambleside Kirkstone Rotary Club which organizes the street collection on switch-on day.

Thanks to our local police, Langdale/Ambleside Mountain Rescue Team and St John Ambulance for their assistance during the lantern procession. We are grateful for the use of the Ambleside Rugby Club premises for our lantern workshops.

We are grateful to Legat Owen for use of the Market Cross area.

Huge thanks must go to Barlow Construction and Renovation for their generous donation which has enabled us to continue to upgrade our lights.

Special thanks to Peter Lang of Peter Does Design for all his creative work on this year’s flyer.

Thanks, too, to Keith Robinson for his help in revamping this website to make it more mobile/tablet friendly.

The Christmas Lights Committee would like to publicly thank the people/organisations whose generous contributions and time donated will help to make this year's Switch on the BEST EVER! Details will be added as donations are received.

In addition, we would like to thank the many people who made anonymous contributions via the envelopes delivered with the Parish Magazine recently.
Retail Shops:  
Ambleside Sports www.amblesidesports.co.uk
Ambleside Toy Shop www.theamblesidetoyshop.co.uk
Ambleside Wine/Fino www.maltlounge.co.uk
Apple Pie Bakery www.applepieambleside.co.uk/
Boots Chemists  
Church Street News Agents  
Climbers Shop www.climbers-shop.com
Cookhouse Gallery www.cookhousegallery.co.uk
Cunninghams www.srcunningham.co.uk
Cutting Edge
Detail www.detailretail.net/
Gaynor Sports Limited www.gaynors.co.uk
Gear  
Ghyllside Cycles www.ghyllside.co.uk
Horsman's Jewellers www.horsmansjewellers.co.uk
J F Martin www.jfmartin.co.uk
Little Walkers www.littlewalkers.co.uk/
No 6 The Slack https://no6theslack.uk/
OCG www.ocg-arts.com
Old Bank House Chocolate
Picnic Box
Rush www.rushambleside.co.uk
Silver Moon
Spar Grocers  
Stockghyll Fine Foods www.stockghyllfinefood.co.uk
Swim the Lakes www.swimthelakes.co.uk
Tesco Express  
The Bath House www.thebathhouseshop.com/
The Co-op
The Hub
Tysons www.fwtyson.co.uk
Ye Old Friars www.friars.co.uk
 
Food and Beverage Providers:
Bar eS
 
Churchills
 
Costa Coffee
 
Daisy's Cafe
Esquires Coffee
 
Golden Rule
Lake Road Kitchen
Northern Pie Co.
 
Priest Hole
Sheila's Cottage
Stiles Coffee
 
The Lily  
Walnut Fish Bar  
Waterhead Coffee Shop www.waterheadcoffeeshop.co.uk
 
Services and Professional Services:  
Davenport & Scott www.solicitorsambleside.com
Saint & Co www.saint.co.uk
Gates Travel www.gatestravel.co.uk
Hackney & Leigh www.hackney-leigh.co.uk
Heart of the Lakes www.heartofthelakes.co.uk
Matthews Benjamin www.matthewsbenjamin.co.uk
Oakhill Vetinary Group www.oakhillvetgroup.co.uk
   
Accommodation Providers:  
Waterhead Hotel www.englishlakes.co.uk
Amboseli Lodge www.amboselilodge.co.uk
BrathayLodge www.brathay-lodge.co.uk
Claremont House www.claremontambleside.co.uk
Hillsdale GH www.hillsdale.co.uk
Kirkstone Foot Appts www.kirkstonefoot.co.uk
Lattendale's www.lattendales.co.uk
Norwood House GH www.norwoodhouse.net
Park House www.parkhouseguesthouse.co.uk
Rothay Garth Gh www.rothay-garth.co.uk
The Gables www.thegables-ambleside.co.uk
YHA  
   
Other organisations:  
Lakes Parish Council www.amblesideonline.co.uk/parish-council/
Ambleside Players www.amblesideplayers.co.uk
Ambleside Rotary www.amblesiderotary.org.uk
Ambleside Kirkstone Rotary www.amblesidekirkstonerotary.org.uk
Oaklands(Ambleside) Management Ltd  
Last and not least we thank all those local residents who have responded generously to our appeal in the Parish Magazine and for their help and encouragement in many other ways.