Roll of Honour - 2018

The Ambleside Chrismas Lights event, which so many enjoy and which now brings large numbers of visitors to the town, could not happen without sponsorship.
 
We would like to thank for its generous grant:
  • Lakes Parish Council

We are indebted to Windermere Lake Cruises for sponsoring our Father Christmas cruise and the lights at Waterhead and to Stiles Coffee Shop for selling the tickets.

We are grateful to Windermere and Ambleside Lions Club for organizing the fireworks display and to The Regent Hotel and Tesco Stores for space to store our lights.

It is with pleasure that we acknowledge the help of The Rotary Club of Ambleside with the stewarding of the lantern procession.

A valuable contribution is made by the Ambleside Kirkstone Rotary Club which organizes the street collection on switch-on day.

Thanks to our local police, Langdale/Ambleside Mountain Rescue Team and Kentdale Medical Services for their assistance during the lantern procession. We are grateful for the use of the Ambleside Rugby Club premises for our lantern workshops.

We are grateful to Legat Owen for use of the Market Cross area and the donation on behalf of the eleven businesses based there.

Special thanks to Peter Lang of Peter Does Design for all his creative work on this year’s flyer.

The committee would also like to thank the businesses and individuals who generously donated prizes for our fundraising bingo events.

The Christmas Lights Committee would like to publicly thank the people/organisations whose generous contributions and time donated helped to make this year's Switch on the BEST EVER!

Details will be added as donations are received.

The list below is correct as at Dec 8th 2018

In addition, we would like to thank the people who made anonymous contributions via theappeal within the Parish Magazine recently.

Shops
Ambleside Toy Shop www.theamblesidetoyshop.co.uk
Ambleside Wine/Fino www.maltlounge.co.uk
Boathouse Gifts, Waterhead  
The Bath House www.thebathhouseshop.co.uk
Cookhouse Gallery www.cookhousegallery.co.uk
Cunninghams www.srcunningham.co.uk
Detail Detail Facebook Page
Garsides Butchers  
Gates Travel www.gatestravel.co.uk
Gaynor Sports Limited www.gaynors.co.uk
Ghyllside Cycles www.ghyllside.co.uk
The Hub (PO and Tourist Info)  
JF Martin - Hardware www.jfmartin.co.uk
La Galerie d'Art www.galart.co.uk
Lakeland Leather www.lakelandleather.co.uk
Little Walkers www.littlewalkers.co.uk
No 6 The Slack https://no6theslack.uk
Old Courthouse Gallery (OCG) www.ocg-arts.com
Rush www.rushambleside.co.uk
Silver Moon Silver Moon Facebook Page
Spar Spar Ambleside
Stockghyll Fine Foods www.stockghyllfinefood.co.uk
Tesco Stores Tesco - Ambleside
Tysons www.fwtyson.co.uk
Ye Old Friars www.friars.co.uk
   
Service Providers
Ambleside Tree Services www.amblesidetreeservices.co.uk
Furness Building Society www.templeheelis.co.uk
Heart of the Lakes www.heartofthelakes.co.uk
Hackney & Leigh www.hackney-leigh.co.uk
Magennis Plumbing and Heating www.ambleside-plumber.co.uk
Matthews Benjamin www.matthewsbenjamin.co.uk
Oakhill Vetinary Group www.oakhillvetgroup.co.uk
 
Restaurants, Cafes and Coffee Shops
Cafe Treff www.cafetreff.co.uk
Daisy's Cafe Daisy's Cafe Facebook Page
Freshers
Kysty www.kysty.co.uk
Misto Misto Facebook Page
Mr H's Tearoom Mr. H's Tearoom
The Priest Hole www.thepriesthole.co.uk
Sheila's Cottage www.sheilascottage.co.uk
Stiles Coffee Shop www.stilesofambleside.co.uk
Zeffirellis www.zeffirellis.com
 
Hotels, B&Bs and Guest Houses
Brathay Lodge www.brathay-lodge.co.uk
Claremont House www.claremontambleside.co.uk
The Gables www.thegables-ambleside.co.uk
Hillsdale B&B www.hillsdaleambleside.co.uk
Lattendales www.lattendales.co.uk
Norwood Guest House www.norwoodhouse.net
Park House Guest House www.parkhouseguesthouse.co.uk
Wateredge Inn www.wateredgeinn.co.uk
Waterhead Hotel www.englishlakes.co.uk
Wordsworths Guest House www.wordsworthsguesthouse.co.uk
   
Pubs
Golden Rule www.robinsonsbrewery.com/goldenrule
   
Other organisations  
Ambleside Rotary Ambleside Rotary web page
Ambleside Kirkstone Rotary Ambleside Kirsktone Rotary web page
Ambleside Sports www.amblesidesports.co.uk
Langdale Ambleside Mtn Rescue www.lamrt.org.uk
Lakes Parish Council Lakes Parish Council web page
Rydal WI www.rydalwi.btck.co.uk
   
 
Last and not least we thank all local residents for their help and encouragement in many other ways.